Cherokee Logo


Neighboring Counties

Cherokee County, Georgia, was created from ceded land of the Cherokee Indians on 21 December 1830. On 3 December 1832, Cheorkee County was divided into ten counties: Forsyth, Lumpkin, Union, Cobb, Cherokee, Gilmer, Cass [now Bartow], Murray, Floyd, and Paulding.

Georgia's Generally Assembly first Act that would, utlimately, create Cherokee County from the remaining lands of the Cherokee Nation was passed in Milledgeville during the annual session of November and December in 1828.

Linda Woodward Geiger