Cherokee County History


AN ACT, 20 December 1828, to add the Territory lying within the limits of this State, and occupied by the Cherokee Indians, to the counties of Carroll, DeKalb, Gwinnett, Hall and Habersham; and to eixend the laws of this State over the same, and for other purposes.

AN ACT, 3 December 1832, to add parts of the counties of Habersham and Hall to the county of Cherokee, and to divide said county of Cherokee into ten counties and to provide for the organization of the same. Cherokee County was divided into the following:


  • Forsyth
  • Lumpkin
  • Union
  • Cobb
  • Cherokee
  • Gilmer
  • CassĀ [now Bartow]
  • Murray
  • Floyd
  • Paulding



Click here for a full transcript of these two Acts of the Georgia Legislature and more.

Georgia Militia Districts

  • Click here for a list of the Cherokee county military units.
  • Click here for an explanation of Georgia Militia Districts
  • Click here for a map of Cherokee County militia districts.